Christy Kennard

apples and bananas March 16, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — christykennard @ 11:11 pm

Ok so I am in the grocery store getting some food to feed my crew……I was in the produce department, this time of year the fruit really comes into season and there is such varitey. Ok that may seem beside the point but the Lord really spoke to my heart……..what can I say He meets me where I am at. So I am filling my bag with apples, as I tell Isaac to sit down before he grabs some fruit I have never even seen (don’t ask me what it was I can’t remember). It occured to me how stuck I get when it comes to the food that I buy. You can bet that when you come to my house there will be bananas, apples, grapes, and strawberries. Those are the favorites around here. But THERE IS SO MUCH MORE!!! Today there was kiwi, watermelon, cauntelope, mango, blueberries, cherries, rasberries, plums, peaches, pluots, apricots, plaintains, grapefruits, lemons, limes, oranges, cranberries…ok you get the point. I was just struck at how often I am willing to settle for just the basics. I am ok eating, “an apple a day…” it doesn’t even occur to me to pick up a plum or an apricot instead. Do I like those other fruits, Yes…..I just rarely buy them and get beyond the habitual stuff I always get. Isn’t that the same thing I do in my relationsip with the Lord. I get up, spend some time reading my bible, say a little prayer and then go on with the rest of my day. I settle for simply apples and bananas. I am tired of it…..I need some new flavors in my spiritual life. I want more out of it. I want to graze and eat the fruits I haven’t tasted in awhile. I want to step out and try some of the stuff I have never had before. I want to dig deeper and receive the best that the Lord has for me. Apples and bananas are not longer satisfying……my soul is longing for more.

 

Leave a Reply

