Christy Kennard

sigh… March 16, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — christykennard @ 11:31 pm

I got my feelings hurt today. You know the feeling, you can feel the tears threatning to make their apperance every time you relive the experience. It was one of those times when I just couldn’t seem to shake it. I spent much of my day trying to convince myself that it wasn’t important but my heart was kicking and screaming in opposition. I felt misunderstood and isolated by people who should be supportive and encouraging. I caught myself becoming angry and thinking of some pretty good one liners of what I should have said rather than what I didn’t say. The problem with this line of thought is that it breeds more negativity. By the end of the day my stomach was in knots, my thoughts were distant, and my heart was heavy. What does all of this accomplish? How can reliving and reevalutatng change the situation? It was at that point that a still small voice whispered into my ear, “Whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable-if anything is excellent or praiseworhty-think about such things.” This passage from Philippians 4:8 is one that creeps into the corner of my mind every now and then. It was the Spirit’s way of reminding me to stop the war inside of my head. Surrender and wave that white flag! Don’t continue to let your thoughts dwell on this situation. Is there anything lovely or praiseworthy about this? In the end I had to sit back and pray, and everytime this threatened to consume my thoughts again I pulled Philippians 4:8 out of my back pocket and remained focused on what keeps my mind and heart heavenward.

 

2 Responses to “sigh…”

  1. shawnwilson Says:

    Great post!! I often need to be reminded of this myself. God Bless!

    Shawn


Leave a Reply

