Christy Kennard

I was shot today…kinda March 24, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — christykennard @ 1:19 am
Tags: , , , ,

“What in the name of Al Gore is going on outside today?”  These were the first words that came out of my pastors mouth last Sunday.  It is officially spring and it was just below 40 degrees in Houston.  Talk about some CRAZY weather.  His question was met with immediate laughter from everyone in the crowd, or so I thought!  After service I was out working the registration table for our upcoming youth event.  This lady was filling out a registration card as the main doors to the building swung open.  It was instantly freezing and I decided to be witty and repeat my pastors humorous question…..I didn’t get quite the same response he did. 

This lady proceeded to lecture me for about 5 minutes on the insanity of making light of such a serious problem.  She informed me of how offended she was at such humor and chided me for daring to repeat the offense.  I just stared at her blankly…until I could no longer keep in the laughter.  I know that it only offended her more, and I apologized, but I just couldn’t help it, it was pretty funny.  I don’t pretend to be an expert on the global warming debate.  I watch the news and try to say on top of things, but this is just one of those issues I haven’t invested too much time in.  She yelled at me and honestly expected me to go to battle with her.  I made some generic comment about God being in control of it all and smiled in an effort to make everyone at the table a little less uncomfortable. 

I would have kept my mouth shut if I would had I thought that my stolen humor would have caused an offense.  I was completely unprepared for the verbal bullets she was shooting at me.  As I was sharing this story, in my usual animated fashion, to my husband on the way home from church he made a comment about how unpredictable life is.  We can speculate about a lot of things, prepare for what we understand, learn as much as possible about what we don’t understand; despite this we will still be caught off guard.   Whether it is a hotly debated political issue or a deeply spiritual issue,  God is on top of it.  And while I am not implying that we do not have a responsibility to be wise about things, we cannot become slaves to them.  We can, and should, do everything  we can to take care of everything God has given us.  I think the danger comes in when we do everything we can intellectually and underestimate our all-knowing God. 

The lesson I learned today:  don’t make off the cuff remarks about something you aren’t prepared to defend! 🙂

“The earth is the LORD’s, and everything in it, the world, and all who live in it;  for he founded it upon the seas  and established it upon the waters.”  Proverbs 24:1-2

 

11 Responses to “I was shot today…kinda”

  1. mary jarmon Says:

    Christy. i actually walked by the table as you said that after getting a 2nd glass of tea and i chuckled . i saw only the lady’s back and didn’t hear her comments but believe me when i say there is a full moon rising lately. People are so sensitive and unpredictable and reactionary . I’m blaming the economy but i think it may be more than that. A sense of general unrest and a fear of everything being out of control . She was at the right place to ease that fear and just evidently wasn’t ready to hear the message. Hang in there!
    Mary

  2. jeanne terrill Says:

    Christy,
    Thank you for sharing your experience from this past weekend. I will certainly take this to heart.

    But someone would have to be pretty uptight not to see the humor in Pastor Tim’s comment. I thought it was very appropriate.

    Love ya’ Girl,
    jeanne

  3. Vicki Payne Says:

    I guess she really needed to pray hard huh Christy! We do luv ya girl!

  4. Rachel Says:

    Hi Christy – you recently stopped by my blog and I’m glad you did so I could connect to yours. I have found myself in a similar situation that got quite intense, and gained a similar lesson. 🙂

    As for the topic at hand – this world (under the sway of Satan) always wants us in a state of fear because then they can control us – the media is always concoting something that isn’t proven but acts like it is to keep us under their thumb. Thank goodness there is no fear in God because of His perfect love for us which provides and protects and counsels in truth and wisdom.

    Rachel

  5. Diane Says:

    Hey Christy, I love your posts. So inspiring and eye opening:) Thank You!

  6. Allison Rhodes Says:

    So, I can totally see your shock in her response and then you busting out laughing. I was laughing so hard just thinking about it! I hope you are having a great week!

  7. Al Gore (Liston) Says:

    What’s so funny?? 🙂

  8. DM Says:

    The giggles and sense of humor runs strong in our family as well- I could just see one of my daughters reacting the same way you did. I think God has a way bigger sense of humor than many of us realize. Sometimes a good laugh in the midst of life is just what the doctor ordered.


Leave a Reply

