Christy Kennard

laundry marathons… March 25, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — christykennard @ 2:15 pm

It feels as though laundry will forever be the thorn in my side.  I was complaining to my mom about it and she assured me that there will be a day that I will literally have to go around the house searching for enough dirty stuff to make a full load.  As much as I know that I will miss my kids when they are grown and gone…that is one thing I will look forward to.

My laundry routine is anything but “routine.”  I tried the whole one load a day thing but I ended up missing days here and there.   I have ended up just doing it a couple of days a week and I spend several hours attacking the laundry monster.  By the time I am done my couch is dressed in our finest.  Recently we replaced our couches and my oldest son’s assumption was that we bought bigger ones so I would have more room to do the laundry.  Nice…

When I am going through and folding the clothes, the worst part I might add, I have what I affectionately refer to as “the scrubs.”  I toss all the stuff the I don’t want to deal with into a basket.  Ideally, when I am in a good mood, I will save that stuff for last and then sort through it.  It contains all the fun stuff like mismatched socks, tops with missing pants, pajamas, etc.  (How is there so much of this stuff left over EVERY time??)  Honestly I don’t deal with it at the conclusion of each laundry marathon.  I usually put it on top of the washer  and wait until I have an entire basket  before grudgingly sit down to conquer it. 

As I was completing the final lap in my laundry adventure today I was dreading the scrubs (the basket was entirely full).  I just wanted to forget about it and put it off until later.  I began thinking about my spiritual life and what kind of “scrubs” are in my basket.  At times I get a little lazy and don’t deal with stuff,  I just let it sit.  I hide it in the laundry room of my heart and save it for another day.  The problem is that just because I put it out of sight doesn’t make it go away.  It is still there behind the door haunting me!     I find that my relationship with Jesus takes a beating, my thoughts become consumed with it and my heart draws away from its source of peace.  When I take the time to deal with it daily, and don’t wait until the basket is full, it is much easier and less painful to work through. 

“Create in me a pure heart, O God, and renew a steadfast spirit within me.  Do not cast me from your presence or take your Holy Spirit from me.  Restore to me the joy of your salvation and grant me a willing spirit, to sustain me.”  Psalm 51:10-12

“Finally, brothers, whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable—if anything is excellent or praiseworthy—think about such things.”  Phil. 4:8

 

4 Responses to “laundry marathons…”

  1. Jennifer Ferguson Says:

    I so needed to hear that today! Wow- great stuff-who would of thought laundry would bring you to that awesome conclusion! 🙂
    love you friend

  2. Andrea Says:

    First of all, those two verses are two of my absolute favorites. God has used them to minister to me so many times. Secondly, I love you friend. Stinky backed-up laundry and all.

  3. Tammy Says:

    I love how God uses the ordinary things in life to teach us. Wonderful post. Thanks for stopping by my little corner of the world.


Leave a Reply

