Christy Kennard

IT’S A BOY!!! April 1, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — christykennard @ 2:56 am
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Sunday afternoon my husband and I were in the kitchen getting dinner started when the door bell rang.  When I checked the door there were a couple of kids from our youth group standing outside holding who we would later know as Rambo.  They had been messing around near the retention pond at our church and found a baby red ear slider.  They eagerly caught him with a net and brought him to us so he could make his home with Gilbert, our much larger turtle.  We all gathered around the tank and watched as they dropped him in and he frantically swam to the bottom trying to escape his captors.  He had no idea he had just been put in a 10 gallon prison cell.  He found a hiding spot for a few minutes but soon ventured out to explore his new habitat.  Having never been in a glass house before he was a little confused.  He swam and bumped into the side over and over again.  I felt a little sorry for him and would have let him go but he had been named so like it or not he was officially a part of the family. 

It took Gilbert a little while to notice that someone else had entered his territory.  As Rambo found a spot on the basking rock under the heat lamp we watched as Gilbert gave him a once over.  He perked his head up and stretched it as far as he could to see what this little thing was doing on his home turf.  We were convinced he was going to snap at him but he just kept moving around looking at him.  I am pretty sure that he wasn’t too excited to have another shell invading his space, but after a little investigating he seems to be making the adjustment.  

I am a little like Gilbert.  I am mildly territorial and am deeply resistant to change.  This is one of my least adored traits if you are asking my husband.  I am the kind of person that will hang a picture or place a couch and never think about moving it.  I tend to have a till death do you part mentality once something is set in its place.  While this gets me into trouble in a lot of ways it causes me some great discomfort when God wants to stretch me and shake things up!

There have been some times in my life when God has taken me down some pretty uncomfortable roads, I can’t think of a single time that I have been a very good passenger.  I tend to be the type that will go, but I am going to make my protest clear.  Just as Gilbert didn’t like Rambo coming in and changing things, I get frustrated when God needs to redirect the course of my life.  I can always look back and see how God’s hand was moving and why he sent me the way that he did, but it still doesn’t make the initial discomfort any easier to bear.  I am still learning that in order to see God do great things in my life I have to be willing to go beyond what I am comfortable with and trust God to meet me the rest of the way!

“Now to him who is able to do immeasurably more than all we ask or imagine, according to his power that is at work within us, to him be glory in the church and in Christ Jesus throughout all generations, for ever and ever! Amen. ” Ephesians 3:20-21

 

Leave a Reply

