Christy Kennard

Flying Torpedo April 3, 2010

Getting a couple of hours to go and run errands alone is a treasure when you have five kids!  I got all dressed and ready to go last Saturday, list in hand.  I was digging in my purse to find the key to my husbands truck, you know the one that is broken and won’t stay on my key chain.  As I was digging in my purse I set it down on the bed of the truck.  Once I retrieved the key and got the door open I was on my way.  First stop…why is there no gas??  I rearranged my mental map and headed  in the direction of the gas station.  When I got there I looked around and could not find my purse anywhere.  I knew almost immediately what had happened,  I must have left it on the back of the truck.  I frantically turned it around and headed back towards home.  I kept my eyes on the side of the road until…whalah…I spotted it!  I pulled over on the side of the road, ignored the honking cars and  leapt out. 

As I got to my purse everything was sprawled out all over the ground.  Among other things my phone was flipped open and my checkbook was several feet away, I began to panic!  I was convinced that someone had rummaged through my stuff.  Fear was creeping in and I was trying to remember if there was anything important I should be looking for.  I called my husband and told him what had happened and he kinda laughed at me.  His response was something like, “Christy you were probably going 40 miles an hour when your purse torpedoed through the air….I am sure nobody went snooping in your stuff.”  He was right….dang it!

 Why was my first reaction to assume that someone had gotten ahold of my purse and dug around?  Why did my heart beat faster and my palms start sweating?  Is anything in that bag so important that I get so emotionally distraught?When I consider the way in which my purse ended up on the side of the road it really doesn’t make any sense.  It was only “lost” for maybe 10 minutes.  It didn’t even occur to me to stop and pray about it.  I just went into crazy woman mode determined to retrieve my goods.  Doesn’t God want to be a part of little stuff like this in my life?  Had I just taken the time to invite him to be a part of this with me I probably would have been slightly more rational!  As I mulled over this whole episode this is the verse that came to my mind, “Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God.” Philippians 4:6 

I know all of this stuff.  I just have a hard time putting it into practice when I am in the midst of the chaos.  How in the world do I make this happen?   sigh…..

 

Leave a Reply

