Christy Kennard

SHATTERED! April 8, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — christykennard @ 3:43 am
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Saturday morning I was leaving the house to run to the grocery store.  I was backing out of the driveway and when I looked out my rearview mirror I noticed that one of the windows was completely shattered.  I reluctantly got out to investigate and it appeared as if someone had been enjoying their pellet gun.  The only thing that had kept the glass from falling to the ground was that it was stuck to the tint.  As I glared at the window my emotions swayed between anger and panic.  My husbands little two-seater truck is not sufficient for transporting our seven member family, we were supposed to head to the in-laws the next day for Easter.  How in the world was I going to find someone to fix this window on the Saturday before Easter?  I quickly came back in the house and got online searching for a glass guy who could accommodate me.  I contacted a few but it was a couple of hours before one of them called me back and was available to do the job.  He was about three hours late from the original appointment time but at 8:45, with the lights from his truck, he made it to replace the window. 

I was chatting with him as he changed out the glass and he was very friendly…until he found out that I was a Christian and that my husband was a pastor.  He wasn’t rude or anything but he certainly wasn’t in the mood to carry on a conversation anymore.  As he left I wondered why he reacted the way that he did.  Had he had a bad experience with the church?  Is he living a life far from God?  Is he afraid I am going to pull out my  bible and try to shove it down his throat?  I will never know the answer to these questions, but it kinda makes me think. 

This has happened to me in the past and it always bothers me.  As followers of Jesus we are called to share His love with the people we come into contact with.   Jesus is clear that there will always be people who don’t want to hear his message.  We have to expect that if we are going to share our faith we will probably be shut out every now and then, he certainly was!  I am not a fan of the  “turn or burn”  kind of message but I am always eager to share the amazing things that God has done in my life.   My life is incredibly better because of Jesus, I just can’t help but seek opportunities to share it.  If an opportunity arises I jump on it, but I struggle when people look at me like I am crazy or try to get away from me as quickly as possible.  I know that it is the Holy Spirit that draws the hearts of men but I can’t help but to take it personally when people flee at the mention of Jesus’ name.   

A while back I came across this verse,  “Be wise in the way you act toward outsiders; make the most of every opportunity. Let your conversation be always full of grace, seasoned with salt, so that you may know how to answer everyone.”  Colossians 4:5-6   I catch myself pondering it often and pray that God will give me the wisdom and discernment to know how to be intentional with my words and to use them to bring the most glory to Him!

 

4 Responses to “SHATTERED!”

  1. Kathy Floyd Says:

    Christy, I know how you feel! Good article!

  2. I have experienced similar things in my life. All we can do is share the Word, and let God do the rest. I constantly remind myself that He is bigger than any of this stuff on earth. He knows what every perosn needs, and He knows how to call them back. My job is to be the voice when called. I plant the seeds and let God water it.

    Every so often, you get to see the rewards. I have recently been going way out on the proverbial limb at work. Actually talking to my boss about God and religion. He is a disenchanted catholic, and was very resistant at first. But then he started to ask questions, and now, although not yet attending a church, is in the beginning stages of seeking his own relationshio with God. It is amazing to see God work on the heart of his children.

    At the church I attend, we have a stated mission of “Helping People Find Their Way Back To God”. It is something we believe strongly in, and these kinds of conversations are what we are all about. I believe it was what Chirstians everywhere should be all about. Stay the course Christy, you are doing God’s work!

    • Thanks! Such a good reminder….we plant the seeds. There are times I feel blown off and will never know whether or not God will use it later in a persons life. Praise God for the fruit you are seeing in your co-worker!!!


Leave a Reply

