Christy Kennard

HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO YOU…. April 15, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — christykennard @ 2:05 pm

Birthdays are kind of a  big deal around our house.  My husband and I both have a tendency to go overboard.  I like holidays but there is something special about a birthday.  It is mostly because it is YOUR day.  Our kids have caught on to this and they have taken complete ownership of their cherished day on the calendar.  They know that it is THEIR  day!  They get to pick the meals and the plans for the day.  They are, within reason, the boss for the day.  I am sure you can imagine with five kids how much fun that is! HA! 

Last week we celebrated Isaac’s 6th birthday which got all the other kids talking about what they were going to do when it was their turn.  Miriam was talking about the cake that we were going to make.  She loves pink and declared that her cake was going to wear the color proud.  Then , to make sure my feelings weren’t hurt, she said we could put a little bit of purple on top since that was my favorite color.  It was really quite thoughtful!  She then sat there for a minute and looked at me puzzled and asked what Jesus’ favorite color was.  She wanted to make sure that his favorite was represented!

For a quick moment, once I realized she was asking because she wanted to make sure that he was included, my heart swelled with pride for my sweet little girl.  We really try hard to explain to our kids that Jesus needs to be number one in our lives.  I have explained to them that we need to invite him to be a part of every little part of our lives, even the little stuff!  When she asked me this it gave me a small window into her understanding.  She is starting to get it!  She is trying to make him a part of her special day.  She is beginning to understand that he has a place in her life. 

Once my pride deflated a bit I began to think about my heart.  I yak to my kids all the time about keeping Jesus number one, but do I do that?  I know that he wants to be a part of everything in my life but I find myself at times not even thinking about inviting him into some of my decisions.  I want my love for him to run so deep that my thoughts can’t help but to include him…even in my birthday cake!

Whatever you do, work at it with all your heart, as working for the Lord, not for men, since you know that you will receive an inheritance from the Lord as a reward. It is the Lord Christ you are serving.”    Colossians 3:23-24

 

Leave a Reply

