Christy Kennard

Pee in a cup??? April 29, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — christykennard @ 5:48 am
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

I have a confession….both of my potty trained daughters pee in cups.  I know that is disgusting but there have been a few 500 mile road trips to my parents that I have made without my better half.  When you have five kids, 8 hours, and 6 bladders you do what you gotta do in order to survive.  It is complicated to get all the kids out to go into a convenience store to use a bathroom that is significantly dirtier than dirt.  There is nothing “convenient” about these stores when you are traveling alone with five kids.  It literally takes me 30 minutes and $30 to get everyone out and back on the road.  After my last little trip I decided to keep the sonic cups for emergencies…they got used!

So last week when I was pruning my half tree I had all of my kids out helping me.  They were moving the limbs from the grass to the back of daddy’s truck.  I had to get into the van to get something and accidentally left the door open.  A few minutes later my two-year old comes running to me, cup in hand, declaring that she had filled it up!  I literally almost peed in my pants I was laughing so hard.  The bathroom is 10 feet from the front door, but what fun is that???

I love convenience!  I love drive-thru’s, microwaves and internet shopping!  I am not knocking convenience but what about in my spiritual life?  Am I called to always do what is easy and convenient?  As followers of Jesus we are asked to do some pretty inconvenient things, some stuff that does not follow the public opinion.  In Matthew 5:38-42 Jesus says, “You have heard that it was said, ‘Eye for eye, and tooth for tooth.’ But I tell you, Do not resist an evil person. If someone strikes you on the right cheek, turn to him the other also.  And if someone wants to sue you and take your tunic, let him have your cloak as well.  If someone forces you to go one mile, go with him two miles.  Give to the one who asks you, and do not turn away from the one who wants to borrow from you.” 

This is some pretty hard stuff to swallow!  I for one don’t like to idea of offering my left cheek to someone just slapped the right one!  If someone forces me to do one mile I am going to be ready to say “sayonara”, I am not going to be eager to “go the extra mile.”  I think that in our culture I would be completely justified to punch the guy who punched me first or to stick it to the one who forced me to go with them…why then did Jesus call us to live in a way that is totally against this line of thought?  I think the answer comes in the sacrifice that he made on our behalf.  He didn’t deserve to be spit on, beat or killed; he deserved to be worshipped!  Jesus got what he didn’t deserve so that we can give to others what they don’t deserve…it is a little thing called grace!

 

4 Responses to “Pee in a cup???”

  1. I’m a little late here…but I really like this post. A great reminder that life is not always easy and convenient. Sometimes we are called to do things at great sacrifice to ourselves. I recently saw a video where a bushel basket was used as a symbol for our dreams and desires. In the video, it obviously took two hands to hold the basket. But, to help someone else with their basket, you had to let go of one of your handles. If we are going to advance the hopes and dreams of our friends and families…much less the those of Jesus, we need to put our dreams on hold at times. That is the hardest of all. To give up mine, so you can achieve yours.

  2. What a great illustration to use the basket!!! We live in such a self-addicted society it is hard to put into perspective what God really asks of us! Thanks!!!

  3. Andrea Says:

    Love it! Both the lesson and the illustration. You are the coolest mom ever. 🙂


Leave a Reply

