Christy Kennard

I KILLLED a snake!!! May 2, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — christykennard @ 11:21 pm

I confess that yard work is not a strong suit in our home.  My husband hates to mow, and while I don’t mind doing it I am just not that good.  All that to say, our only yard maintenance goal is to keep the homeowners association from having reason to send us hate mail! 

Last week, I was out in the back yard weed eating the grass up against my house.  As I was blazing away I saw a red snake slip across the water hose in a desperate attempt to get away from me.  I started to go through all of the snake rhymes I have learned…red and yellow kill a fellow…red and black friend of Jack…..all red your dead!  WAIT, in my moment of fear I think I made that last one up!!!   I whipped the weed eater around I was able to put a permanent stop to his slithering.  He would no longer be able to sneak up on me while I was doing yard work! 

Honestly, I probably didn’t have too much to worry about considering he was only about six inches long.  My greatest fear was that baby snake equals mama snake nearby….I was in panic mode.  After doing some web surfing I discovered that this snake is completely harmless.  I had nothing to fear, but fear is a funny thing!  It has a way of creeping in and drowning out everything else.   It moves in and takes over my thoughts and ties knots deep in my gut. 

God promises this in John 14:26-27, “But the Helper, the Holy Spirit, whom the Father will send in My name, He will teach you all things, and bring to your remembrance all things that I said to you.  Peace I leave with you, My peace I give to you; not as the world gives do I give to you. Let not your heart be troubled, neither let it be afraid.”  As a follower of Jesus I have been given a gift, the Holy Spirit.  His role in  my life is to give me the ability to hear the whispering of God in my life.  He reminds me of truth when I begin to turn towards a lie and gives me peace despite the war tormenting my mind.  I am left with the choice to live in bondage to my fears, or to live in the freedom of my savior Jesus!  

My DEAD snake!

I have given you authority to trample on snakes and scorpions and to overcome all the power of the enemy; nothing will harm you.”  Luke 10:19 

 

2 Responses to “I KILLLED a snake!!!”

  1. Gune Says:

    Okay I understand that fear is not such a good thing. BUT…………….. I hate snakes!!!!


Leave a Reply

