Christy Kennard

SHAKE IT UP!!! May 18, 2010

I recently read a post from a dear friend of mine and she used the illustration of a snow globe.  She was talking about how we tend to like our lives when everything is nice and settled.  We want our little snow globe lives to sit on the shelf and not get shaken up.  God on the other hand likes to shake things up a bit!  As I read her post I started thinking about my life and how this has been true on several occasions.  When I see a snow glove I almost can’t help but to pick it up and give it a shake.  It is so much prettier when the “snow” is falling!   I caught myself wondering if this is how God sees our lives.  We like to keep things predictable and easy, who wants to explore uncomfortable changes in life?  But God knows that sometimes we need a good shake in order to grow closer to him!  He knows that our lives are much more beautiful when we endure a little difficulty or discomfort, it is then that we grow and lean on His strength!

In December of 2008 this is a pretty good picture of what happened to my show globe.  At the time we had four kids:  two boys, two girls!  My husband always told everyone, “the force is balanced”  and we were content with our family.  Do you know what happens when you say things like that??  The force get’s off-balance!

We found out about a week before Christmas that there was one more Kennard on the way.  I was pretty upset for a while, I felt like I was in a SNOW STORM!  In hindsight I realize that I was less upset about the baby and more upset because I had to come face to face with the fact that I am not the one in control!

It took me several weeks to break the news to my friends and family.  I knew in my heart that everything was fine, but I wanted to be able to handle myself well when people made their inevitable comments about my understanding of what causes this!  I was good at talking about living a life of faith, but I was learning to put it into practice.

Over the course of the next 8 months God allowed the snow to settle slowly.  I came to the realization that I love my job!  I love being home with my kids, I love the chaos, and YES I even love all of the bodily fluids!  God reminded me of what he says in Psalm 127…that children are our heritage!  I can accomplish a lot in my life, but the legacy that I leave behind in my children is what will be remembered.  That is what will be passed down from generation to generation.  I might have been totally shocked at the news of another baby, but God was not.  He knew what he had in store for me before he ever sent me into the world.   I may have felt inadequate, but he reminded me that he is adequate enough for the both of us!!!

In August of this last year, our sweet little Eden was born!  She has been such an unexpected blessing in our lives!  I look at her daily and wonder why in the world i didn’t jump up and down in excitement when I found out she was coming.  She has a built in fan club around here and it is joyful to sit back and watch!  Too often I will hear singing in the baby monitor only to find my two-year old laying in the crib with her singing her a song.  My oldest son loves to pull her up into his lap to read her stories.  The other two regularly are caught fighting over who gets to be the next one to take her little piggies to the market.  We may have been unprepared for her coming, but God knew our family was not complete without her!

Here is the awesome blog that inspired me, check it out!!!

 

7 Responses to “SHAKE IT UP!!!”

  1. Sarah Says:

    Beautiful illustration, I’ve never heard that before! The great thing about my situation and yours… both being very different from each other… is that we both know God has a plan and we find comfort in that, even though “our” plan may not be the same as His. We both are faithful that no matter what type of snow is falling, HE is in control. Isn’t that awesome, our God is so good!

  2. Danny Love Says:

    cool Blog!!!

  3. Hi Christy,

    I love your blog! Motherhood definitely gives us plenty of life experience to blog about! Your kids are so precious!

  4. You have done it once more! Superb post!


Leave a Reply

