Christy Kennard

SCRUBBIN’ May 23, 2010

My six-year-old son has officially been given the job of cleaning the toilets.  As I was mulling over who to give this job to it occurred to me, he is the one who struggles most to hit the target so he gets the job!  Many of you are probably thinking that I am cruel……I am okay with that!   He has had this job for a couple of months but he still struggles now and then.  I have to go in every single time and make sure that he has really cleaned it.  More often than not we have to go back over it and re-clean at least one part of it.   Either he forgets to lift the seat to clean under it, doesn’t wipe the floor around the toilet or uses the toilet scrubber as a sword and forgets to actually scrub!   We have trained and trained and while he has improved DRAMATICALLY, he still doesn’t have it quite right.

To be completely honest, it would be much faster for me to just clean the toilets myself.  I could get in there and not have to go back over it.  There have been several times when that is exactly what I have wanted to do.  I realize that if I did this that my son would never learn how to do it.  He would grow up, move out, and I would have to come and visit him to clean the toilets for him until he married some sweet unsuspecting girl who could do it for him.  This might be easier, depending how far he moved away, but is that really the best way to go about things?  Should I avoid doing difficult things  just because it is inconvenient? 

I think this is the reason that God gave us free will.  It would have been much easier had he created an earthful of little robots ready to do whatever he ask, people who loved him and didn’t know any different.   Despite this, it is not how God chose to do things.  Although I have no doubt that it is significantly more painful for God to watch his creation choose to please themselves rather than to choose to honor him, he did it anyway.  He longs to have a relationship with us and it is worth all the pain and rejection.  He teaches us lessons and we don’t get them right the first time….or the seventh time!  He doesn’t reject us because of our lack of competence, he lovingly embraces us and patiently reminds us!  He loves us enough to forgive us and receive us when we miss the target and can’t get our lives cleaned up without his assistance!

“May your unfailing love rest upon us, O LORD, even as we put our hope in you.”  Psalm 33:22

 

4 Responses to “SCRUBBIN’”

  1. Danny Love Says:

    How funny is this. Good luck with the target practice.

  2. snowgood Says:

    I assume you are familiar with the Bible verse that goes with this matter? Proverbs 22:6

    Keep up the good work!

    Stephen

    • “Train a child in the way he should go, and when he is old he will not turn from it.” GOOD STUFF! Wish I had posted that one at the bottom! Thanks for stopping by my blog!!!


Leave a Reply

