Christy Kennard

SEALED DEPOSIT! May 27, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — christykennard @ 2:02 pm
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I was reading my bible the other day and ran across a verse that intrigued me: 

And you also were included in Christ when you heard the word of truth, the gospel of your salvation. Having believed, you were marked in him with a seal, the promised Holy Spirit, who is a deposit guaranteeing our inheritance until the redemption of those who are God’s possession—to the praise of his glory.”  Ephesians 1:13-14

After I read this I went and did a little digging, here are two of the coolest things I discovered…….

1.  A seal in the first century when this was written is important.  A seal was a mark of authenticity, it marked ownership.  Just as a rancher will burn its mark permanently into the flesh of its livestock to make sure that ownership it is not confused, a seal guaranteed that something was official business and could be trusted.  Most often the ring  of the official was used so there would be no confusion as to who had authenticated the letter.   

 

2.  This verse says that believers are given a deposit as a sign of the promise of eternal life.   Back when I got my first apartment the electric company required me to give them a $500 deposit before they would turn the lights on.  I didn’t have any credit and they were not willing to take the risk of me not paying my bill.  They wanted me to put up some money in order to back up my promise to pay.  This deposit is nothing in comparison to the one we have been given:  The Holy Spirit.  We are given this gift as a small “down payment” for what we will receive in heaven.  This gift is life changing on earth, the presence of God dwelling inside of you!

As followers of Jesus, we are not sealed on the outside but on the inside.  The Holy spirit comes into our lives and takes residence.  It is a permanent mark guaranteeing eternal life.  This is the fulfillment of a prophecy found in Joel 2:28-29,  “I will pour out my Spirit on all people.  Your sons and daughters will prophesy, your old men will dream dreams, your young men will see visions.  Even on my servants, both men and women, I will pour out my Spirit in those days.”  

I am always amazed when I read things like this!  God is so incredibly HUGE and he is so complete!  He makes an investment in me and gives me the ability to experience his presence on earth.  I LOVE it!

 

4 Responses to “SEALED DEPOSIT!”

  1. Mmmmm Good stuff Christy 🙂 Thank you for this beautiful reminder from the Word that we are sealed on the inside with the Holy Spirit!

  2. THANKS Charissa…I love it when God blows me away with a single verse!

  3. Danny Love Says:

    Interesting commentary and interpretation. I also like studying first century history. What reference did you use?

    • I read several commentaries on the entire first chapter of Ephesians. I have a biblesoft software on my computer that has all of the most popular ones on it. I just find it fascinating to go back and look at the scripture in reference to the culture, it always puts things into perspective for me. Thanks for reading!!!


Leave a Reply

