Christy Kennard

CHURCH OR BROADWAY??? June 10, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — christykennard @ 9:35 pm
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

I have only been on this earth for 33 years, but  I am AMAZED at how much technology has changed our world.  I spoke with my husbands great-grandmother a few years ago and we were talking about how much it has changed the way we live our lives.  This woman was born in 1906 and watched the world change dramatically.  She went from outhouses, cars and telegrams to indoor plumbing, mass transportation and internet…talk about transformation!   Most of us would not want to live back in the early 20th century, we enjoy life’s conveniences and praise the people who invent things that make our life easier and more exciting.

Recently I got into a conversation with someone who was complaining about the church and how much it has changed over the years.  He argued that churches now days are all about putting on a big production.  To a certain degree he is right.  My church for example has cool backgrounds, huge screens and flashy lights.  Gone are the days where you walk in, sit in a pew, pull out the hymnal and dress to impress.  These are not the only changes we have seen; people no longer go to church because they are obligated to go, businesses don’t shut down simply because it is Sunday, and our society has strayed far away from biblical principles.  As a result of these things the church has been forced to change!  Some might argue that they do it because they are concerned about their bottom line, but I disagree.  I think that churches have changed because they are passionate about their message and that they will do whatever it takes to reach the masses.  If you have good news to share, you will do go the extra mile to make sure that people hear it!  Technology is everywhere!  People are used to things flashing in front of their eyes and information being at their fingertips instantly.  If the church doesn’t represent Christ in a way that is relevant to people, they will not see their need for Him.  Just because church may be more “entertaining” doesn’t mean the truth presented has changed.  Turning the lights down and reading worship songs from a screen doesn’t alter the life-changing truth of scripture. 

Many people like the serene, traditional ways and I am certainly not saying that there is anything wrong with that.  As long as the message of Jesus is being presented I don’t think it matters if it is from a man in a long robe standing behind a wooden pulpit or a tattooed man in jeans walking all over the stage.

 

8 Responses to “CHURCH OR BROADWAY???”

  1. Kathy Floyd Says:

    Thanks for this Christy. Sometimes we have to change! We update all kinds of other things . . . they way we cook, the way we educate our kids, the ways we entertain ourselves. We’re still using the same ingredients, just packaging it in new ways. There’s nothing wrong with using technology and other updates in the church. Once upon a time, there was no piano. Then a piano, but no electric organ. Then an organ, but no guitar or drums. Then we had the full praise band, but no Powerpoint yet. We’ve added the sound system, and the videos, and what’s wrong with that? Just as long as it’s the same Truth, it’s not going to matter much whether the guy giving it out is wearing a necktie or not. Just my opinion.
    Kathy Floyd
    http://www.kathyfloyd.com

  2. mary jarmon Says:

    Christy, Said perfectly and in love but necessary for people to realize the world we live in needs God! and New Hope it trying to give God to them. Love you and your family.

    • You are too sweet Mary! I agree that there is a deep need for God and people try so hard to formulate excuses as to why the church has nothing to offer! Jesus has done great things for me and I want to use whatever means possible to share it with others!!!

  3. Danny Love Says:

    I have been reading and enjoying your Blog for several months now. Your family, children, prospective on life, Christianity, and zeal for daily life is admirable. Your most resent post reveals your young age of 33 years. You make some profound statements which you obviously believe are indisputable. I remembered when I was 33, convinced I had the world by the tail and all the solutions for all that ails society. This compassion will serve you well, as you age and reflect back on your youth. Continue to seek “truth” in your life.

    Your quote “My church for example has cool backgrounds, huge screens and flashy lights. Gone are the days where you walk in, sit in a pew, pull out the hymnal and dress to impress.” It’s truly sad that Christianity has become so confusing in our society. I read somewhere there are 33,800 worldwide Christian denominations?? No wonder the world is so screwed up. Throw in the non-believers and another dement ion of confusion exists.
    A “Broadway Production” as you describe is attractive to our confused society, and does attract society towards Christ!! Amen!!

    Your quote “ These are not the only changes we have seen; people no longer go to church because they are obligated to go, businesses don’t shut down simply because it is Sunday, and our society has strayed far away from biblical principles. As a result of these things the church has been forced to change” I have to disagree with you, the church cannot be a “democracy”, changing as society changes and offering what feels good to the masses. 1 Timothy 3:15 says the Church is “the pillar and foundation of truth”. The Lord preserves the Church. (Matthew 16:18, 20:28) Jesus assured the apostles, “He who listens to you listens to me, and he who rejects you rejects me” (Luke 10:16). Jesus promised to guide his Church into all truth (John 16:12-13). We can have confidence that the Church teaches the truth of Christ. I for one, do honor the lord because I am “obligated” to do so!! “Keep holy the Sabbath”??

    You quote “ Many people like the serene, traditional ways and I am certainly not saying that there is any thing wrong with that. As long as the message of Jesus is being presented I don’t think it matters if it is from a man in a long robe standing behind a wooden pulpit or a tattooed man in jeans walking all over the stage”.
    “I don’t think it matters” ???

    There are 33,800 “I,s” in existence today and growing. What’s wrong with this picture? I pray for your continued search of “truth”. I am confident you will “age” well. God bless you and your family! Peace be with you!!!

    • I honestly agree with you, the church should not be a democracy! It is sad that there are so many different denominations and I agree that is a big part of the problem, it does in fact lead to confusion. I was trying to make the point that we live in a culture where you are not expected to go to church just because it is the right thing to do. Not too far in the past people went because it was just expected of them. People have come to the place where they just don’t think that Christ is relevant in their lives. I don’t think that we can give a candy coated message because it is appealing. 1 Tiimothy 4:3 says, “There will come a time when men will not put up with sound doctrine. Instead, to suit thier own desires, they will gather around them a great number of teachers to say what their itching ears want to hear.”
      My mom tells me the same thing often about my age. I look back now and see how differently I see things than I did 10 years ago and I have learned alot. I am confident that 10 years from now I will feel the same way about my thoughts now. Experience in life leads to wisdom and I know for sure that I don’t have it all figured out! I honestly appreciate your thoughts! THANKS!!!

  4. Gina Brown Says:

    Christy – thanks for the blogs. I agree with you. I do not understand how some can accept a stagnant church, unevolving with society and culture. I often ask myself, “how can we all sit on our hands anymore and accept the fact of losing the battle?” The fact is that despite our efforts, God can do it without us, but we are called to be his hands, feet, arms, etc. to the ones not tuning into TBN. Praise Him for that…I sure don’t want to wear any panty hose to be considered a “good” Christian. I hope the jewels in my crown represent how many I have won to Christ, and not the number of times I’ve been counted warming a pew.

    I think Paul says it well in 1 Cor 9:19-23
    19Though I am free and belong to no man, I make myself a slave to everyone, to win as many as possible. 20To the Jews I became like a Jew, to win the Jews. To those under the law I became like one under the law (though I myself am not under the law), so as to win those under the law. 21To those not having the law I became like one not having the law (though I am not free from God’s law but am under Christ’s law), so as to win those not having the law. 22To the weak I became weak, to win the weak. I have become all things to all men so that by all possible means I might save some. 23I do all this for the sake of the gospel, that I may share in its blessings.

    The Word of God is timeless, just as He is.


Leave a Reply

