Christy Kennard

DUCT TAPE FIXES EVERYTHING…..ALMOST! June 19, 2010

My boys love to have their hair buzzed in the summer!  It has been so hot and humid here in Houston that they started asking me a couple of weeks ago if I would do the honors.  I have been putting it off because the attachment I use for my clippers is broken. When they continued to persist I decided to bring out the big guns….DUCT TAPE!  I got the attachment in place and used the hot pink duct tape to make sure that it stayed in place.  I did my first son and it worked like a charm.  I sat the next one down and began my magic.  I got to the back of his head when the attachment fell off.  Unfortunately, I noticed it as I was cutting up the back of his head.  I literally started to laugh out loud, my son had a big fat bald spot in the center of his head!  I took a step back to assess the damage.  It wasn’t just a little obvious…it was bad!  I honestly did not know what to do.  I called my husband and he told me to just shave it all off.  There was NO WAY I was going to do that!  I had him go jump in the shower to get all the extra hair off while I pondered my little situation!  When he got out I decided to take the clippers and cut it down to the shortest attachment I had.  It does not look perfect, but it is better than a big fat bald head!  As I sent him to bed tonight (and watched his little bald spot march up the stairs) I decided that next time we are going to the barber shop for the buzz!  I normally do a decent job but I am not sure it is worth the risk!

I often find myself doing this with God, I am a little stubborn and independent.  I get my mind made up that I want to do something and I won’t quit until I conquer it.  I may see all kinds of red flags (or hot pink ones in this case) but my determination outweighs my intellect at times!  I get so focused on my goal that I don’t take a step back and call in the professional.  I find myself in a situation where depending on God is the surest way and I plow through without seeking his guidance.  It may work for a while, but in the end I find myself with a bald spot….maybe not on my head but in my heart.  I have been given the gift of a Savior that wants to be invited into every part of my life.  He wants to join me in my adventures and guide my every step.  When I welcome him on my journey I find myself in a much better place than when I go my own way and do my own thing.

“I will instruct you and teach you in the way you should go; I will counsel you and watch over you.”  Psalm 32:8

 

7 Responses to “DUCT TAPE FIXES EVERYTHING…..ALMOST!”

  1. dr. carl Says:

    Looks good, I think the tired A-Team would think it was great.
    Reminds me of Barber Shop

  2. My friend was intrigued when reading this line on your blog “… in a situation where depending on God is the surest way and I plow through without seeking his guidance.  …” it causes me to look more intelligent after understanding it.

  3. Andrea Says:

    I’ve had more “bald spots” than I care to admit to. It would definitely be easier to remember to call in the Professional rather than always trying to do things on my own!

  4. Kimberly Says:

    This post hit closer to home that I would have normally liked! I just cut Chad’s hair recently. He got to cracking jokes and acting funny and my hand slipped and off went a chunk of his hair on the side of his head! I nearly peed my pants when it happened. Oh, the joys of being frugal!


Leave a Reply

