Christy Kennard

BEAVER TIME… July 12, 2010

My husband and I were taking a road trip to San Antonio and before we left town he began talking about our first pit stop….Buc-ee’s.  I looked at him puzzled at his giddy excitement over a convenience store.  I have been to many road side gas stations and they are certainly nothing to blog about!  What amazed me was that  96 miles out the marketing campaign was in full force.  There was at least one billboard every five miles before we spotted the beloved beaver.   They boast everything from beaver nuggets to spotless toilets.  I entered with a critical eye but surprisingly was impressed.  The bathrooms were unlike any gas station I have ever seen and the food was better than the fast food joint down the road.  They had an entire section of marketing tools from hitch covers to dog toys.    I caught myself thinking that that little beaver was somewhat charming.  They had done it….they sucked me in almost as quickly as they had my husband.  I might just plan my next stop around Buc-ee’s!  (I won’t have to wonder where one is because there will be plenty of signs to show me the way!)

As I pondered the success of this particular chain of convenience stores I came to a couple of conclusions.  They had to make a significant investment in their advertising in order to build your anticipation enough to wait  until their exit for a pit stop.  The next thing they had to do was to make good on the many promises they had made over the last hundred miles.  I read signs about their homemade fudge, in-house beef jerky, and spotless bathrooms–  they couldn’t just talk a good game, they had to deliver!

As we drove away I caught myself thinking that whoever runs their marketing department needs a raise, they had done an amazing job!  Then my thoughts turned to my own life.  I am very open about my faith in Jesus Christ.  I go out of my way to talk about him to anyone who comes my way.  Often times my attire is a walking billboard for the Man.  With the beaver in the rear view mirror I realized how often I fall short in matching up.  As discouraging as this thought was it was quickly replaced with the reminder that I don’t have to have it all together all the time–I have a Savior who does!  He has made good on every single promise He has ever made.  He is completely faithful to every word He has spoken.  He doesn’t just talk a good game, he sent His son to prove it!

“I will proclaim the name of the LORD. Oh, praise the greatness of our God!  He is the Rock, his works are perfect, and all his ways are just. A faithful God who does no wrong,  upright and just is he.”  Deuteronomy 32:3-4

 

2 Responses to “BEAVER TIME…”

  1. Kathy Floyd Says:

    This was really good, Christy! We don’t have Buc-ee’s up here in NE Texas, so I have to ask . . . what’s a beaver nugget? Missed you today at BLAST!
    Kathy Floyd
    http://www.kathyfloyd.com


Leave a Reply

