Christy Kennard

THE MULLET… July 20, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — christykennard @ 2:29 pm
Tags: , , , , , ,

I was reading TIME magazine today and off in the very bottom right hand corner that was a little blurb about Iran’s new law.  They have literally made it against the law to have a mullet.  Don’t get me wrong–they should have been outlawed in the 80’s when they were rampant.  The reasoning behind this new law is quiet different though..it is because they are trying to “fight back against the Western cultural invasion,” and “halt the spread of unconventional styles.”  Conformity is the name of the game if you live in Iran.  The government over there has one goal:  CONTROL!  

We live in a culture, the Western one they are so afraid of, where unconventional is praised.  The power of our influence is more incredible than we realize.  The American way tries desperately to seep into every corner of the globe and we are quite successful! 

As I pondered this new law I realized that I totally get it.  I understand why the government in Iran wants so badly to keep their people in line.  As incredibly grateful I am to live in this country, freedom comes with a cost.  If you let people choose their religion you might not like some of the choices they make.  If you let people dress however they want you might be disappointed with their choice.  In a country like Iran they do everything in their power to keep people from making choices that they do not like, including how they cut their hair.  It may seem like a small thing but small things eventually turn into big things!

Laws like this are a funny thing.  They may go a long way in keeping people in line, but they fall incredibly short in conforming the heart.  You can force people to follow a law out of fear but you can’t change the rebellion in their hearts.  I am sure that the Iranian government is not concerned with the condition of the heart, but God is.  Heart is mentioned 743 times in scripture–I think it is safe to say that it is important! 

  • “As water reflects the face, so a man’s heart reflects the man.”  Proverbs 27:19   

“The good man brings good things out of the good stored up in his heart, and the evil man brings evil things out of the evil stored up in his heart. For out of the overflow of his heart his mouth speaks.”  Luke 6:45

What you see on the outside is merely a reflection of what is on the inside.  I find it easy [or rather easier] to learn to control what is visible, and much more difficult to change what is hiding beneath the surface.   It is important to be intentional about what we allow our hearts to dwell on.  If I am angry about something I must make the choice not to spend hours dwelling on it, but rather praying and asking God to help me work through it.  In the end my reaction will be a reflection of what I have allowed to go on in my heart.

 

4 Responses to “THE MULLET…”

  1. Kathy Floyd Says:

    Well, thank you very much, ma’am. That was a good word for me today.

  2. Keri Says:

    Hi Christy,
    I haven’t visited in a long time and I think this is the first time I’ve actually commented!

    We just moved to Singapore and I’m learning very quickly that the bragging rights earned by Singaporeans for being safe and clean come with a price. There are rules and you must follow them or else pay the consequence….and they don’t mess around with the consequences here. It is a very controlled society and there are those that feel oppressed. It’s funny because I was just thinking that there are so many non-Christians and Christians that feel the same thing. They feel oppressed by what they see as a controlling God because they can’t see past it to the rewards of having a big God in charge of our very little lives.

    AND…..there you have it. The longest comment ever!! Sorry about that! Great post and I’ve enjoyed catching up!


Leave a Reply

