Christy Kennard

THE OLDER, THE DUMBER!!! August 4, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — christykennard @ 4:53 pm
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

I used to think I had it all figured out!  When I graduated from high school I was the smartest I have ever been!  At that point in my life I had it all planned out.  I didn’t even question what my future would look like.  When I graduated from college I wasn’t quite as sure and now I have NO IDEA what the next ten years will look like. 

This has been a constant in my life.  It seems to pop up in my life with each new adventure.  When my first child was born (the one who must have read all of the books from the womb because he followed all the rules) I thought I had this baby thing figured out!  Here we are five kids later and I realize I have no idea what I am doing–they are all so different. 

When my husband went into the ministry 9 years ago I remember having a critical eye to anyone who didn’t do things the way we were doing them.  Today I look back and see the wisdom in so many of the people who I was so quick to dismiss years ago.

“Is not wisdom found among the aged? Does not long life bring understanding?”  (Job 12:12)

I love this verse because it reminds me that I don’t have it all together.  I am not as smart as I think I am.  The older I get, the dumber I get.  It is not that I am really dumber, it is just that I realize I wasn’t as smart as I thought I was to begin with!  As crazy as it might seem there is such freedom in this realization for me.    I am so grateful for older (wiser) people in my life that are willing to share their heart and their experiences with me.   I know that it is through them that I too might gain some wisdom!

“Do you see a man wise in his own eyes? There is more hope for a fool than for him.” Proverbs 26:12

 

6 Responses to “THE OLDER, THE DUMBER!!!”

  1. Andrea Says:

    SO true. I totally relate. It’s nice “growing dumber” on this life journey together, friend. 🙂

  2. Diane Says:

    So true Chrisy, before I became a mom I was so critical and knew when I became a mom, my child would never have a tantrum in the middle of target. Ouch!!! Too many to count!

    I’m slowly learning that when life throws lemons, I’ve got to make lemonade:). God
    sure throws them hard and fast sometimes though:) I love women who share and encourage my growth:)

  3. jterrill Says:

    As always, I love reading your thoughts on life. I have added you to my blog roll. Blog on!


Leave a Reply

