Christy Kennard

I am the THIEF in the night! September 9, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — christykennard @ 4:08 am
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

I bought some stuff off of eBay recently and have been eagerly waiting all week for them to be delivered.  Today, as I was unloading my kids, I saw the mailman take two large boxes to one of the houses down the street.  I was a little suspicious but didn’t give it a second thought once I got into the house.  As I was checking my email tonight I received a tracking update that my packages had been delivered.  I checked the porch one more time but there were no boxes.  So I did what any respectable person does at 10:00 at night.  I got out of my pajamas and back into my clothes and took a little walk down the street.  I tried to be as nonchalant as possible as I did my porch peeking.  As I passed the house where I had seen the mailman leave the boxes I noticed that they were still sitting on the porch.  I contemplated my next move.  Should I walk up and check the name on the box, or wait until the morning to knock on the door.  As much as I would like to say that I chose the latter, I did not.  I tip-toed up to the porch making the extra effort not to make any noise.   Just as I suspected I saw my name and address clearly printed on the shipping label.  I grabbed the boxes and drug them back down the street to my house.  As I made the journey home I began preparing my speech just in case someone confronted me and my beloved packages.  Luckily I did not have to defend my actions but as I maneuvered them into the house I realized that my heart was beating as if I had actually stolen them.  When I showed my husband what I had found he spent the next ten minutes making fun of me.   The more I thought about it I realized that he had good reason for his laughter!  My mission was borderline crazy. 

I tend to be single-minded at times.  (Stubborn might be a better description but since I am the one writing this I will use more flattering words!)  I was convinced that those packages were mine and I would have had a hard time getting to sleep had I not marched down the road to find out.  As much as I hate to admit it, I get like this fairly often.  When I realized this about my self I was determined that it could be positive a character trait.  Soon after, I came across some verses in Psalm 119:113-115, “I hate double-minded men, but I love your law. You are my refuge and my shield; I have put my hope in your word.  Away from me, you evildoers, that I may keep the commands of my God!”  These verses require me to maintain focus!  I have to keep my mind focused on Christ and put my hope in him alone.  There are so many things in this world that are distracting and I am called to be of one mind and to remain alert!  I can’t allow the things of this world to creep in and allow me to become double-minded.  I have to choose my loyalty and seek to put Him first in every single decision!  I am far from the mark, but I know that when I do this my life as a follower of Jesus is much more fulfilling than when I get off track!

 

11 Responses to “I am the THIEF in the night!”

  1. Gune Says:

    Stealing your own stuff! Glad you didn’t go to jail for trespassing I am still laughing I can just see you doing this to the music of the Pink Panther!!!!!

  2. Crystal Says:

    Oh, I think I will enjoy reading your blog. I have friends like you…
    Really, this was a good read. I look forward to more. 🙂

  3. Such a good visual 🙂 Hehe!! I love it!!

  4. Angela Says:

    Haha, what a funny story. I’m glad you didn’t get caught. Hopefully the walk back to your house wasn’t long and the boxes weren’t heavy. 🙂

    Thanks for the comment on my blog, btw!

    Angie

    • Not too far…just about 5 houses down. The boxes were quite large and ackward but not too heavy. I did forget to mention that my next door neighbor is a cop…thanfully he didn’t see me! ha!

      I enjoyed browsing through your blog for sure!

  5. That is SO funny! I LOVE it…..and it sounds like something I would do myself! Glad you ‘got by with it’ safely!

  6. emily hughes Says:

    That is really funny!


Leave a Reply

