Christy Kennard

…In the tub September 24, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — christykennard @ 4:02 am
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

I give up!  My 13 month old daughter is the messiest eater of all of my children.  With all of my other kids I kept an extra container of wipes handy in the kitchen so I could do a quick clean up after the meal had been devoured.  This round, I have changed my course of action.  On numerous occasions I have found food from her head to her toe.  It matters not whether it is a banana or spaghetti she manages to get some into every crease of her body–it is almost a skill.  I have conceded to the fact that only the bathtub will do. When I use the wipes I always find a little snack somewhere a couple of hours later.   At least twice a day she ends up splashing around as I remove the remnants of her most recent meal.  It should not have surprised me when she began crawling to my room after dinner tonight.  She was just headed in her usual direction.

As I was bathing her off after she stuffed herself with fish sticks and  macaroni and cheese I almost laughed.  She is really unaware of her need to be cleaned.  She is simply doing the most natural thing in the world by satisfying her hunger.  Nobody told her that she was supposed to get it all in her mouth.  She just sits in her chair, dimples shining, stuffing her adorable little face.   I am always nearby to give assistance if necessary (although she RARELY takes me up on it)……surprisingly, I am not that much different. 

The longer that I follow Jesus the more I become aware of my sinfulness and desperate need for purification.  I am incredibly dirty and desperately need to be cleaned.  I was blissfully unaware of this 15 years ago, I thought I was an okay person.  The closer that I have grown to Jesus the more aware of my filth I have become.  I have learned the necessity of jumping in the tub of his forgiveness on a much more regular basis.  What a refreshing time when I can go before the creator of the universe and receive a good scrub down.  I could try to get it all cleaned up with a little wipe, but there will always be stuff left over.  We serve a God who is anxiously waiting for us to put down our insufficient wipes and take a giant plunge into his river of grace!

“…let us draw near to God with a sincere heart in full assurance of faith, having our hearts sprinkled to cleanse us from a guilty conscience and having our bodies washed with pure water. Let us hold unswervingly to the hope we profess, for he who promised is faithful.”  Hebrews 10:22-23

“All of us have become like one who is unclean, and all our righteous acts are like filthy rags; we all shrivel up like a leaf, and like the wind our sins sweep us away.”  Isaiah 64:6

 

4 Responses to “…In the tub”

  1. eyesinjune Says:

    I enjoyed this post very much 🙂 And you daughter is astonishingly beautiful! I’m in the process of cleansing myself al well, though it is a consistant state of being the Spirit will always make us aware of as long as we remember to listen. I’ll be dropping by again 🙂
    Take care, and God Bless you and your family Christy.

  2. Crystal Says:

    Good thoughts. And you’re right…she is adorable!


Leave a Reply

