Christy Kennard

Squeaky clean…. October 15, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — christykennard @ 4:02 am
Tags: , , ,

Every summer my parents take all of their grandkids for an entire week….NO PARENTS ALLOWED!  There are 12 from ages 1 to 10.  It is certainly a favorite week for everybody.  My parents get to enjoy the grandkids, the grandkids get to enjoy the grandparents and cousins, and my husband and I get to enjoy spending time together!  My parents make the drive to Houston to pick up the kids and we decided this year that we would swap cars.  Seven of the twelve live in Houston and our car is big enough to hold everyone.  The day before they came I found myself getting a little panicky.  My dad is very particular and does not like things to be messy.  As a mother of 5 my car tends to be my weakness.  I want my van to stay clean but the honest truth is that it normally does not.  So at 6:00 in the morning I found myself outside with a bottle of disinfectant, windex, stain remover and a vacuum getting it prepared for the 500 mile journey!  I don’t think my car had been that clean since the day we picked up the keys!  I smelled better than when it came off the assembly line.

My dad is one of the people that I respect most in my life.  He would have never said anything to me if I had not taken the time to clean out the car before passing him the keys.  But because I love him and value his opinion of me it was important to me that I clean it out.  As I was attempting to remove the stains from the carpet I wondered how much more cleaning I would have to do if my heavenly father came for a visit?  It is really easy to pretend that I have it all together and to keep hidden the things that I struggle with.  The truth is that I cannot pull the wool over God’s eyes.  He sees all of my weaknesses and shortcomings.  Do I take the time to pull out the windex and clean the windows of my heart or do I just allow them to cloud my spiritual vision?  Too often I am afraid I do the latter!

“Who may ascend to the hill of the Lord?  Who may stand in his holy place?  He who has clean hands and a pure heart, who does not lift up his soul to and idol, or swear by what is false.  He will receive blessing from the Lord and vindication from God his savior.  Such is the generation of those who seek him, who seek your face, o God of Jacob.” Psalm 24:3-6

“Woe to you, teachers of the law and Pharisees, you hypocrites! You clean the outside of the cup and dish, but inside they are full of greed and self-indulgence. Blind Pharisee! First clean the inside of the cup and dish, and then the outside also will be clean.” Matthew 23:25-26

 

2 Responses to “Squeaky clean….”

  1. Jessica Shaer Says:

    My dearest friend. You are a gifted writer and you amaze me at each new thing the Lord clearly lays on your heart to share. Thank you for always be true to who you say you are, not pretending to be something you are not, and for calling things the way they are. I am blessed to have you in my life and to call you friend. I am so very thankful for you! Keep writing!! It is truly honoring to who it really matters most. All glory to the One and Only Saviour!! i love you, my friend


Leave a Reply

