Christy Kennard

My NEW Television Hero… January 31, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — christykennard @ 10:57 pm
Tags: , , , , , , ,

When I was a kid my sister and I would fight over who got to be Princess Leia when we watched Star Wars.  We dreamed of having hair long enough to do matching buns that covered our ears, not to mention the ability to show up as a hologram from our robotic friend R2-D2.  There have been many other television heroes over the years that I have longed to imitate but I hit an all time high last week while watching Phineas and Ferb.  I caught myself thinking….man I want to be like Ferb!  My longing did not come from his unmatched intelligence or his ability to pull of high waisted pants, although both are quite desirable, it is because he is a man of few words.  His quirky brother Phineas puts it best, “Ferb is more of a man of action!”  Ferb may speak a sentence or two in each episode.  His words are calculated.  This is not a characteristic that I have.  My 7th grade science teacher put it well when she told my mom that I had diarrhea of the mouth.  I talk WAY too much.   I don’t think before I speak and have to go back and make things right way too often.  While I am going to take a pass on the green hair, I am working to become “Ferberized!”

“Whoever guards his mouth and tongue keeps his soul from troubles.”  Proverbs 21:23

 

4 Responses to “My NEW Television Hero…”

  1. Crystal Says:

    Christy –
    I have the opposite problem. I’m pretty quiet and I vocalize a very small percentage of what I think. While it can keep me out of trouble, it also make me a hard one to figure out and maybe a little less approachable.
    It seems balance is a difficult thing to find. Maybe I need to be a little
    Christy-ized. 🙂

  2. Diane Says:

    I’m so with you on this one! I’m trying to get better though it’s a pretty tough one…


Leave a Reply

