Christy Kennard

My Crowd Surfing Experience….. April 30, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — christykennard @ 3:26 am
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

A few weeks ago I was up in The Woodlands speaking to an amazing group of ladies when I decided to do a little crowd surfing.  It is pretty amusing to imagine this crazy mother of five taking the lunge of her life!  If you take away the crowd and just leave me leaping off the stage, you will have a pretty accurate picture of how my little adventure turned out.  If I am completely honest, it was a lot less like crowd surfing and a lot MORE like falling right off the edge of the stage!  FACE PLANT!!

First of all, the stage was a little crowded and I was left with only a small area to move around.  About 10 minutes in, I took one step too many and fell to my face.  Lieterally….I hit my face on the ground.  How do you recover gracefully from something like this?  In the half-second I had to think about it I tried to just pop back up and keep on going.  That didn’t work very well when I looked up to a room full of ladies trying to stifle their laughs.  I had to be a sight.  My hair was all over my head, my forehead was red, and my shirt needed an adjustment!  Rather than trying to make a smooth transition to my next point I busted out laughing giving every other woman in the room permission to join in!  

It took me a few minutes to get back into my groove, but in the end we had a GREAT time together.  Before I left that day I had the opportunity to talk, share and pray with some struggling women.  As I walked to my car after it was over, I was so thankful that God was there to to fill in the gaps for me.  I don’t have to have a flawless presentation.  I can fall on my face but in the end His word is what is remembered.  He is sufficient!   

” But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me.”  1 Corinthians 12:9

 

9 Responses to “My Crowd Surfing Experience…..”

  1. Oh, what god timing. I am supposed to speak to a group of ladies in about a week. (Glad for the opportunity, but not really in my comfort zone.) This is a good reminder to not take myself too seriously.

    I’ll probably be extra mindful to try to not duplicate your experience though.

    • I wouldn’t recommend it!!! 🙂

      • Well, no crowd surfing, but several minutes in, I got fed up with a very distracting crackling noise in the sound system. I finally stopped and asked the sound guy if I was doing something to cause that noise. He used sign language to indicate an earring. Apparently my slightly dangly earring was interfering with my wireless headset. I had to take out and pocket my earring on stage while everyone waited. HaHaHa! Rookie mistake.

        The problem was fixed right away! 🙂

      • So glad that it went well Crystal!!! 🙂

  2. Mom Says:

    I am laughing so hard I am crying. Great story. God is awesome in this story about humility. Thank you so much for sharing. I love you
    Your Mom

  3. Krissi Says:

    The Woodlands? Do you live in Houston? Oh, and I’m sorry you fell off the stage! At least it turned out funny (without broken bones!)…

    • Yep! We live in Pearland (just south of Houston.) I can laugh now, but was pretty embrassed! 🙂

      • Krissi Says:

        Oh my! I went to elementary school in Webster (lived in between Friendswood & Webster) & then moved to the NE, Kingwood and graduated high school there. I don’t get to Houston much anymore, most of the family is here in SC. I did perform as a young drill team captain in the football stadium in Pearland :). I saw you are hosting a PW Leading & Loving It event. Wish I could come, just b/c it’s in Houston!


Leave a Reply

