Christy Kennard

It is getting to church that is the problem…… May 22, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — christykennard @ 7:45 pm
Tags: , , , , , ,

Last night I was tired so I decided not to bathe my crew before bedtime….this was my FIRST mistake.  You see, when you are married to a guy that works at church it means I fly solo on Sunday mornings.  I am not complaining, it just takes some extra planning on my part.  Skipping out on bath time was the first hitch in the plan.

As soon as my eyes popped open my feet hit the floor running.  I got my older girls bathed and dressed before the boys ever got up.  I was feeling ahead of the game!  This did not last long because when I glanced at the clock I realized it was only 30 minutes until go time!  I scoop the baby out of her crib, throw off the diaper and get ready to put her in the tub.  AGH….I forgot to check for any surprises before taking the diaper off……oops!    Drain the tub, clean the backside of the baby and start over!  (Rookie mistake….what is wrong with me today???)  Finally I am able to take a few minutes to dry my hair.   I looked frantically for my straightener when I realized that my three-year old has given it to her sister as a tub toy!  (IT WAS NOT PLUGGED IN!!!)  I freaked out and tried not to yell loud enough for the neighbors to hear!   My 7-year-old then comes down dressed like we are in the middle of a blizzard.  Really?  You need three shirts, pants and a jacket?  Back up the stairs he goes with better instructions from mom! 

FINALLY… everyone is dressed and shoes are on!  We are out the door when my kids discover a dead bird being attacked by ants in the driveway.  You would have thought the circus was performing with all the excitement.  What is it about dead animals that is so interesting? 

As I drive to church I caught myself thinking, “If only Harold Camping had been right….I would be in heaven worshipping Jesus right now!” Alas, the first laugh of the day!

When we finally arrive I got all the kids settled and upstairs just as the countdown reached zero!  VICTORY!

 

6 Responses to “It is getting to church that is the problem……”

  1. Sharon McElwrath Says:

    Great post! Made me laugh several times, oh the joy of being a mother! I have to tell you, I gasped when I read that your baby was handed the straightener in the tub! And I bet Harold Camping is thinking that exact same thing….

  2. DisneyCyndi Says:

    Somehow I can picture all of this in my head as if I was watching it happen! Oh, that’s because I’ve been there done that before 🙂

    • I know that there will be a day when I will be able to get ready for church without all the chaos. I try really hard to keep it all in perspective and realize this is just a season. My babies will be grown and gone before I know it. So glad you lived to laugh about it Cyndi!! That gives me great hope! 🙂

  3. Vanessa Says:

    I can so relate! We’ve just gotten into such a good routine to where we are not scrambling (now that my little girl is one) and yelling and running late every Sunday. Gonna have to adjust that with the addition of a newborn soon.

    • Isn’t that how life works….just when we think we get it all figured out! Good luck with your newest addition! I never had the nerve to wait until the end to find out what I was having!


Leave a Reply

