Christy Kennard

The UGLIEST shoes ever…… June 4, 2011

I HATE to spend money!  Seriously….it makes my stomach hurt.  I would rather clean the house than go shopping.  As a result, I have a crazy obsession with finding a deal on everything I buy!  “Full price,” are two words not in my vocabulary!  I clip coupons, dig around in cyberspace for the latest deal, and work hard to buy what we need for the least amount of money.

I have learned that there are some things, not many, that I just can’t skimp on.  Running shoes are at the top of that list.  When  I woke up with aching feet the other day I knew it was time to go shopping!  My husband reminded me as I paced up and down the aisles at Academy that I needed to buy the shoes that would support my feet and not too worry too much about the price tag.  (Easy for him to say…..)  I tried on a few pair when out of the corner of my eye I saw it.  A clearance sticker!  VICTORY! 

I opened the box to check out the treasure.  What was inside?  The ugliest pair of shoes that I have ever seen!  They were lime green with this funky web looking overlay.  No wonder they were marked down 60%!   Regardless, I tried them on.  They were super comfortable!  I pulled out my phone and surfed around on the web for some reviews.  It was my lucky day because the reviews on them were great!  With my husband laughing I took them off and proudly placed them in the basket.  They may not be pretty but they will serve their purpose!

As I laced them up and tested them out on the treadmill, I began to ponder my hunger for wheeling and dealing.  I know that there is a lot of good in this quirky characteristic, but it hit me that it isn’t all good!  If I am really honest with myself this is something that seeps into many different areas of my life.  I have a tendency to want to squeeze as much as possible out of everything.  I really do not like to run, I do it because it burns the most calories for the least amount of time invested.  I get on to my kids because they are wasting time looking at the clouds while I am in a hurry to get going.  When I am reading a book I catch myself skimming to get to the point.  What is the result of all of this?  I miss out!  I don’t always experience things to the fullest because I am more concerned about getting more for less!

As I ran my final mile to nowhere, I began to wonder if I do this in my relationship with Christ.  When I sit down to read my bible, do I really soak it all in or am I trying to check something off of my list?  When I worship do I allow myself to let go, or do I focus more on organizing the rest of my day?  I may be able to maximize and stretch my dollars, but this doesn’t work when it comes to a deep intimate relationship with my creator.  Less is NOT more.  I get out of the relationship what I am willing to put into it.  If I am trying to skimp I am going to miss out on the greatest blessing life has to offer.  I have to take the time to slow down and make an investment every single day!  It may cost me a lot of time and energy, but I think it will be worth it!

 

7 Responses to “The UGLIEST shoes ever……”

  1. Aubre Shelton Says:

    I love this…really something to think about!

  2. Vickie Says:

    I love your posts.. they always hit home with me! Especially skipping thru the book to get to the “good parts” missing the lessons along the way! I have to say, I do not think they are that ugly! I promise I could find worse!!! 🙂

  3. Diane Says:

    I’m like you when it comes to shopping, my dad would say “serves it purpose!!” now this is what I tell my kids:) Love this!! I tend to go through the motions of my day so quickly that i forget to take in the sweetness of the moment He provides endless blessings in my life but so often I miss out of the complete fullness of it all.

    • I have the exact same struggles, Diane. My mom always reminds me that my kids will be grown and gone one day….I need to ENJOY them now! One day I will have more time on my hands than I can deal with. It is hard to remember that when I am going 90 to nothing!

  4. Andrea Says:

    I love this, friend. And I can totally relate!


Leave a Reply

