Christy Kennard

Faith and Science October 5, 2011

Filed under: My Journey with Jesus — christykennard @ 9:06 pm
Tags: , , , ,

 

I am NOT a scientist and certainly not a physicist.  I would only take a quick look back at my college transcripts in order to provide sufficient evidence to this fact!  I have never had much interest in it and have not invested the time to wrap my mind around much of it.  It has been surprising to me the last couple of years how much I have learned teaching my kids!!

 

Despite my lack of interest, I read an article in TIME Magazine this week that intrigued me.  The article essentially points out that Albert Einstein might be wrong in his conclusion that nothing travels faster than the speed of light.  If this is the case, the whole concept of relativity is obsolete! 

 

Now, I did not find this interesting because I really care, but rather because it increases my faith.  Since the fall of man people have been trying to figure out the ways of the world.  In many ways God has revealed his glory and we have been able to discover information about the universe.  But just when we think we have it all figured out……we realize that we don’t. 

 

Scientists do all kinds of amazing experiments, which they should, and come to some incredible conclusions.  Textbooks are written and we are taught things as absolute truth.  The problem?  Sometimes they are wrong. 

 

This is not the first time,  it will not be the last!

 

Many people in this world worship the God of science, but as a group of European scientist have just proven……… this is not a reliable god!

 

In the beginning, God created the heavens and the earth.”  Genesis 1:1

 

One Response to “Faith and Science”

  1. mendy Says:

    I really love your last few lines….worshiping the god of science is not reliable. Science does change, not often, but it does. I remember when I was teaching about 8 years ago Pluto was a planet. When I went back to teaching after 3 years at home with my kids, Pluto was no longer a planet (only a dwarf planet). Who knew! The God I worship never seems to change, even when I want too. 🙂 That is a really good thing. I love reading your posts, you always have such fun ways to look at things. Love you.


Leave a Reply

