Christy Kennard

I HATE public restrooms!!! June 18, 2011

Filed under: My Journey with Jesus — christykennard @ 11:34 pm
Tags: , , , ,

I very rarely wish that I were a man.  In fact, the only time I really ever catch myself dreaming about it is when I have to use a public restroom.  Wouldn’t it be nice if I could stand and pee in the bathroom that looks like it hasn’t been cleaned since the toilet was installed?  Public restrooms are just not my thing!

Sadly, the other day I walked into my bathroom and felt a little De Ja vu.  I seriously felt like I had just walked into the facilities at Chevron.  What is wrong with me?  Don’t I know how to clean a toilet?  As I took a moment to mentally scan through the past few weeks I could not remember a single time that this particular bathroom had been given a wipe down.  The other two bathrooms in my house had been cleaned multiple times, but not this one!

As I got on my hands and knees to make up for lost time I knew exactly why this bathroom had been neglected.  We have people over to our house all the time.  The bathroom in the kitchen is normally the one what will be used by our guests so I make an effort to keep that one presentable at all times.  The one upstairs certainly gets a dose of bleach once a week because it has to be ready to go for small group.  My bathroom, nobody ever goes in there!  In fact, if I need to hide some messes when someone is coming over this is always a safe place to do it!  As a result, it is by far the most neglected room in the house. 

Although I have just ratted myself out, the truth is that I want everything to look good on the outside.  I want people to come into my house and think that I have it all together.  I spend way too much energy making sure that I don’t blow my cover but if anyone took a sneak peek in my bathroom they would instantly know the truth!

Isn’t this kinda how our spiritual lives go?  I know for me it is certainly the case sometimes.  I am faithful to go to church, attend small group, and offer a prayer for someone in need.  These things are all outward.  People see me doing these things and it gives the impression that I am solid and committed to this whole God thing.  But when I am totally honest with myself, I have some dirty bathroom areas in my life.  I don’t want everyone to see the areas in my life where I struggle so I like to keep them in the “do not enter,” area.  I will make sure that everything looks good on the outside, but don’t spend as much time investing in the things that only God sees!  It all seems a little backwards to me.  If I really had it all together I would pull out the gloves and scrub every corner of these areas of my life and spend a whole lot less time kicking things under the couch when I know someone is on their way over  for a visit!

“Search me, O God, and know my heart; test me and know my anxious thoughts.  See if there is any offensive way in me, and lead me in the way everlasting.”  Psalm 139:23-24

 

Leave a comment